Well baby, there is no turning back now!

I recently had my 20 week ultrasound to check out baby. My last baby was close to 11 years ago and the technology has evolved so much! My first baby the scan was a grainy black and white thing that the radiographer pointed out various body parts and you pretty much had to take their word for it as you lay there squinting. Now day they are able to see everything! Checking to see if everything is OK we saw the heart pumping, all the developed organs, bones, skull, spine, brain and the list goes on. I’m still amazed.

My husband an I could have spent all day watching baby kick around and grab its legs and even at one point it looked like it was giving us all the finger! They also have the 3D scan which I have to admit I don’t like all that much. It gives you a good outline but also make baby look somewhat demonic!

Image

As you can make out baby is kicking back with legs crossed and hands touching legs. Or it looks like some kind of alien from deep space! Whatever is in there its over 20 weeks so there is no going back now, we are officially over half way. Baby and host are doing well or as my husband calls baby the ‘latcher’ and my belly the ‘biosphere’…He cracks himself up over that one.

We both didn’t want to know the sex of the baby and by both I mean I┬ádefinitely didn’t want to know and husband said he didn’t but really did want to know…Unfortunately for me the very detailed scan showed the sex and now we know. We have only told close friends and family and the rest of the world will have to wait. I was surprised at the amount of people that do find out what they are having and their reasoning is: ‘If we know the sex we know what name to pick, colour of the clothes, how to decorate the room and what sex nappy to buy.’ I think its sad that your one true great surprise in this world has to be known early so they can plan. Everyone that has had a baby knows how quickly plans can go flying out the window. I never found out for my first and bought the brightest clothing I could find, decorated the room with animals of all descriptions (the brighter the better), bought uni sex nappies and picked out a boy and girl name prior to having the baby. No big deal!

Its really disappointing that in the year 2014 we are still resorting to pink for a girl and blue for boy. Seriously? How can we expect our girls and boys to break their molds when we have set them in stone the day they are born? My first baby was a very premature and perfect baby girl. My favorite outfit for her was a blue jumpsuit with sea horses. The backlash I had from complete strangers in the street was horrifying! I would walk down the street with her in the pram and people would stop and say oh what a beautiful boy! I’d politely say thank you but she is a girl. To which I would get ‘well why is she in blue? Blue is for boys! You should put her in pink!’ I would normally say but I like blue and why should one colour define my baby? This was way too confusing for some people and after a few months I gave up communicating with strangers that would stop me because I would rather come across as rude than waste my time explain and justifying my choice. I also have to point out the strangers that were approaching me were all women and mothers!

One day I was at the shops and an elderly lady stopped me and said ‘oh what a beautiful little girl! I just love her outfit, where did you get it?’ I was blown away! The first person out of about 100 that liked what I chose to dress my child in! Which was a green and blue outfit a friend had made for her. I told the lady a friend made it. She said she was so happy to see a mother breaking the gender stereo type. She tried the same some 50 years earlier and met with a mass of disappointed looks many from…you guessed it other women and mothers!

So ladies…we are all entitled to our opinions and have our own methods of raising our babies and juggling the many responsibilities in life. So how about we support each other instead of bitching each other out because someones choice is different! Don’t get me wrong I have friends and family that put their babies in pink or blue, I respect that and move on. You should too :)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About jonesingaround

Jonesing around? Odd right? Yeah well that was the name of my first newspaper column in a student magazine and obviously Foxy Mumma was already taken... (joking). About me...well I'm in my 30's, very close to been married (haven't organised the wedding yet), have a beautiful daughter, fantastic partner and a tribe of pets. I am a graphic designer and a wanna be journalist. Turns out you need to write and write and write, then write some more to get noticed so I decided to kick off a blog...the other reason is I just discovered my eight year old daughter has a blog and I didn't want to seem old or without blog. If you hadn't noticed I also consider myself a comedian.

2 responses to “Well baby, there is no turning back now!”

  1. Russel Ray Photos says :

    I can’t tell the gender. Heck, I can’t even tell that there’s a baby there, but I’m going to believe you. S/he will be here before you know it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

